Holidays in Puerto Rico 2017

beach_scene

The Holiday Season in Puerto Rico traditionally begins around Thanksgiving and ends after Three Kings Day in January. Festivities, however, continue through the San Sebastian Street Festival a 4-day event that starts the third Thursday of January.

Christmas Eve (Nochebuena) typically is marked by a large dinner with family and friends. Traditional menu items are Pasteles (a type of Puerto Rican tamale), Arroz con gandules (rice with pigeon peas), Lechón (spit-roasted pig) and Coquito (a coconut and rum based egg nog). Then it's off to Midnight Mass (Misa de Gallo). Throughout the Christmas season neighbors and friends might make a 'Parranda' going house to house singing Puerto Rican Christmas Carols while playing traditional instruments like the 'Plena', a hand-held drum, the crowd gets larger and larger as it moves through the neighborhood.

Puerto Rico celebrates Three Kings Day (Día de los Reyes Magos) on January 6. Three Kings Day Eve, January 5 (Vispera de los Tres Reyes Magos) is when children leave a glass of water and a box filled with grass out for the Three Kings to drink and their camels to eat. On Three Kings Day the children awake to find the grass and water gone and presents under the Christmas Tree.

 

Puerto Rico Holidays

 
DATE HOLIDAY
Sunday, January 1, 2017 New Year's Day (Monday Observance)
Friday, January 6, 2017 Three Kings Day (Epiphany) 
Monday, January 16, 2017       Dr. Martin Luther King's Birthday
Monday, February 20, 2017 President's Day, Puerto Rican Governors Day and Celebration of illustrious Puerto Ricans1
Wednesday, March 22, 2017 Emancipation Day (Día de la Abolición de la Esclavitud)
Friday, April 14, 2017 Good Friday
Monday, May 29, 2017 Memorial Day
Tuesday, July 4. 2017 United States Independance Day
Tuesday, July 25, 2017 Constitution Day
Monday, September 9, 2017 Labor Day 
Monday, October 9, 2017 Columbus Day
Saturday, November 11, 2017 Veterans Day 
Sunday, November 19, 2017 Discovery of Puerto Rico Day
Thursday, November 23, 2017 Thanksgiving Day
Sunday, December 24, 2017 Christmas Eve2
Monday, December 25, 2017 Christmas Day
 
 1Commemorating: Eugenio María de Hostos, José de Diego, Luis Muñoz Rivera, José Celso Barbosa, Ramón Emeterio Betances, Román Baldorioty de Castro, Luis Muñoz Marín, Ernesto Ramos Antonini and Luis A. Ferré
2Holiday starts at midday